Brett Moffitt wins 2018 Camping World Truck Series title

Brett Moffitt capped a dream season Friday night by winning the 2018 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship. Moffitt scored the best finish among fellow Championship 4 drivers Noah Gragson, Justin Haley and Johnny Sauter, winning the race at Homestead-Miami Speedway to secure his first career championship.

It was the sixth win of the year for Moffitt, one of the year’s breakout stories.

“It’s unreal,” Moffitt said. “We all know the story by now. We didn’t know if we were going to race the full year. Everyone pulled together hard here.”

Moffitt scored both the first wins for owner Shigeaki Hattori’s NASCAR tenure as well as the first title for Hattori Racing Enterprises. The 26-year-old driver had a knack for surging late in races, scoring wins at Atlanta (took lead with two laps to go), Chicagoland (last-lap pass), Michigan (last-lap pass) and Phoenix (took lead with three to go). His win at Iowa Speedway came during a back-and-forth last-lap battle with Gragson.

It was smooth sailing at the end for Moffitt, who led the final 29 laps after a hold-your-breath pass on Gragson for the lead on Lap 105 (of 134).

The Iowa native has had an eventful NASCAR career in a short time span. He won the Sunoco Rookie of the Year in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series in 2015, but had driven in a part-time role since then prior to 2018. He earned his first national series win along the way at Michigan in 2016 in the Truck Series. This year was his first with Hattori Racing.

Moffitt’s title run makes him the fifth different champion in the series in as many years. Christopher Bell won in 2017, Johnny Sauter won in 2016, Erik Jones won in 2015 and Matt Crafton won in 2014.

This story will be updated.

The post Brett Moffitt wins 2018 Camping World Truck Series title appeared first on Official Site Of NASCAR.

Leave a Comment


March 31, 2019

“We have a car running in CFD and windtunnels which, when it is…