Moffitt takes victory in Miami to win Camping World Truck Series title

Brett Moffitt earned the race victory and the 2018 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship in Friday night’s Ford EcoBoost 200 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

After starting fifth, Moffitt climbed to win Stage 2 in the No. 16 Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota, but it was fellow Championship 4 contender Noah Gragson who took over the lead to begin the final stage.

RELATED: Race results

With 34 laps to go, Moffitt put a slide job on Gragson to take over the lead. Gragson hit pit road one lap later as a precaution due to a potential tire going down on the No. 18 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota, which opened the door for the race’s final cycle of pit stops.

Moffitt took over the lead once again following stops, leading the remaining circuits to lock up the win and the first NASCAR national series title for Hattori Racing Enterprises.

Gragson wound up finishing third.

The beginning of the race was dominated by pole-sitter Grant Enfinger, leading the first 30 laps to win Stage 1. He placed second, with Stewart Friesen and Sheldon Creed rounding out the top five, respectively.

Championship 4 contenders and GMS Racing teammates Justin Haley and Johnny Sauter were unable to find the front and give Moffitt and Gragson a run. Haley finished the season finale in eighth, while Sauter finished 12th.

The post Moffitt takes victory in Miami to win Camping World Truck Series title appeared first on Official Site Of NASCAR.

Leave a Comment


May 15, 2019

Winning a race at Zandvoort? Completed it, mate 😉 . Here are five…


May 26, 2019

STREET FIGHTER! @lewishamilton wins the #MonacoGP for the 3rd time after a long…


May 3, 2019

Juicy burgers, with a pinch of Chilli 😉🌶️ . @carlossainz55 shows his inner…


April 11, 2019

🗣My favorite driver from the Commonwealth is ______________. • @richmondraceway #Virginia #Richmond #VirginiaIsForLovers